Wear

I Do. By Victoria

Pronovias

i do

I do… By Victoria

There are some moments in a girl’s life that are all about the dress she wore and how amazing she felt in it, none more than on her wedding day. Three years on and I can still sigh at photos of my amazing dress and would love to be a bride with her wedding day fast approaching and the choice of dresses still infinite. Don’t get me wrong if I had my day again there is not one single thing I would change, the dress included.  I would have the same Groom, for the man he was then, the husband he became since and the new found role of Father that came almost a year ago. The promises he made to me on that day stood as true as his face as he whispered in my ear at the top of the aisle “‘you look beautiful”. And I did because of his love and the help of one very beautiful dress. But I wish there existed an opportunity for two weddings, one where you could make all those choices that very nearly made it but didn’t or where you could appease that little pre wedding voice in your head that so many times said “Let’s just go to Vegas, honey”. I wouldn’t change my day but I would sure like another.

 And here is what my parallel wedding, other universe, list of possible wedding dresses would look like.

 Followed first by a recap of how it actually looked.

 I did vintage.  Old church in the historical cobbled part of Edinburgh followed by a reception in a Georgian Library amongst dusty books and high hand painted ceilings and chandeliers. The ladies did soft shades of duck egg blue and the men donned kilts. The dress was Ian Stuart Sancerre (the first dress I tried on) and the jewellery and head band were Jenny Packman.

Ian Stuart

Ian Stuart

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Tea Length Dress 

So vintage is very true to my heart and if I didn’t deter from this theme I often wonder how I would have rocked a vintage style tea dress (like Keira Knightley did)  and the hours I would have spent choosing the perfect shoe (mine, though beautiful, were almost covered by the indulgent layers of metallic lace forming my dress). In which case wouldn’t it be amazing to have one of these dresses.

Keira Ties the Knot

Keira Ties the Knot

Pronovias

Pronovias

Slinky

Or what if I had gone slinky (and maybe I owed it to my wedding figure that hasn’t been quite the same since). Jenny Packham does slinky wedding dresses like no other, there is something “evening cocktail” about the collection that makes you think you might really wear one of those dresses again and hope for a fitting occasion. Even if that is just your livingroom and a date with your wedding album one nostalgic Friday night.

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Life Is A Beach

And what if I had really followed through on some of my thoughts to just ”run away and do it”.  What would I have worn then?  Well you can bet it would have been one of these with flowers in my hair, flipflops on my feet and not a care in the world.

Pronovias

Pronovias

Pronovias

Pronovias

Jenny Packham

Jenny Packham

Go Bright

I always knew I would get married in a variation of white/cream/ivory and I never thought about flirting with an original colour wedding dress until I saw a good friend walk up the aisle in a exact replica of the aforementioned Kiera’s bottle green dress in the film Atonement. More jaws fell to the floor than would ever have fallen had she wore white and all for the right reasons, she looked beyond gorgeous.  From that moment I have always wondered what colour would I have gone for had I not stuck to tradition.

Atonement

Atonement

Vera Wang

Vera Wang

Princess For A Day

Finally it only seems appropriate that on the one day when you get to feel like a Princess that we show you some Princess dresses.  My dress was slim in the front but very full at the back and I must admit to loving the way it swooshed as I walked and danced (oh did I dance!).  I would have never thought I was one for big dresses but in my alternative universe second wedding I think if you are going to do it then do it right and do it big –  just look at these creations for inspiration.

Vera Wang

Vera Wang

Linea Raffaell

Linea Raffaell

With so many beautiful styles of wedding dresses around it’s probably a good job we don’t get several big days (to the same person) as I could never make my mind up on my second dress. Actually, looking at these dresses now,  I am surprised I ever managed to choose mine in the first place.

Victoria x

Pronovias

Pronovias

Leave a Reply

